The workbench tools
Hobby lamp spec comparer
Compare maker-stated lamp specifications without rankings or brightness estimates.
Choose lamps and enter the distance from the lamp to your work. The comparer shows the published figures as supplied by each maker; it doesn't estimate brightness at a different distance.
The interactive controls need JavaScript. The complete comparison is available below.
The source figures
| Specification | Redgrass R9 Desk Lamp | The Daylight Company Smart Go | The Daylight Company DuoPro Table Lamp |
|---|---|---|---|
| Colour temperature | 5,000 K | 6,000 K | 6,000 K |
| CRI (Ra) | Not stated by the maker | 95+ | 95+ |
| Extended CRI | 98.5+ (R1–R15) | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker |
| R9 | 98 | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker |
| TM-30 | Rf 98.5 / Rg 101 | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker |
| Light output | 1,800 lm | 120 lm | Not stated by the maker |
| Illuminance at stated distance | 3,700 lux at 45 cm | 630 lux at 30 cm | 2,100 lux at 30 cm |
| Flicker-free claim | IEEE1789 (maker stated) | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker |
| Photobiological class | RG0 (maker stated) | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker |
| Power | Not stated by the maker | 5 W | 14 W |
| Dimming | Yes | 3 levels | 4 levels |
| Source | Redgrass specification Checked 2026-10-25 | The Daylight Company specification Checked 2026-10-25 | The Daylight Company specification Checked 2026-10-25 |
A worked comparison
Your 45 cm distance matches the maker's stated lux measurement for R9 Desk Lamp. Other figures remain at their stated distances. For example, Redgrass R9 Desk Lamp: 3,700 lux at 45 cm; The Daylight Company Smart Go: 630 lux at 30 cm. Figures measured at different distances cannot establish which lamp will illuminate your desk more evenly.
How to read the table
Kelvin (K) describes the colour appearance of the light. Lumens describe the lamp's light output. Lux describe light reaching a surface, so the stated measurement distance matters. CRI (Ra), extended CRI, R9 and TM-30 describe different aspects of colour rendering; they aren't interchangeable scores.
Missing information means the maker didn't state it on the linked page when checked. Ask about clearance, clamp fit, returns and electrical compatibility before ordering. Some source pages are regional versions: confirm the UK model and plug.
For a fuller explanation, read lighting for painting miniatures.
Sources & further reading
- CIE: colour rendering index — checked 2026-10-25